1. 57
  1.  

  2. 7

    with 3.0 comes the ability to bring your followers with you like magic! Point the old account to the new one, and the new one to the old one, using the new interface, and your followers will be transferred over!

    If I understand correctly, though, your posts are not moved over, which is a huge bummer.

    1. 7

      Well, at least your followers come with you. When I instancehop, I feel like I have to start at the bottom because only some follow me again.

      You can also just say something like formerly @connor@... in the description and people will see your older posts.

      1. 5

        Sadly, this only works if your followers are also on Mastodon 3.0 servers. So if you actually use this now, don’t expect a lot of followers to follow along…

        1. 3

          It’s been possible to dump and reload your posts for a while now IIRC. It’d be nice to have it automatic, but I’d much rather have this (a feature for which there is no alternative) than wait around for it to be perfect.